Finding the Pole Star (degrees of elevation)

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

Ric

Finding the Pole Star (degrees of elevation)

Post by Ric »

Hi,

My name is Ric and i am a complete beginner! :wink:

Assuming i have set up my telescope in southern UK, pointing compass north, and that i am reading the horizon as 0 degrees to an imaginary point directly above my head at 90 degrees (right angle), approximately to what degree - between 0º~90º, would i need to elevate my telescope in order to sight the Pole Star please?

Many thanks,

R
Andrew INT

Post by Andrew INT »

Hi Ric, and welcome.

If I understand your question correctly...

I take it that your mount is equatorial. In this case, it should be set at the longitude of your location. It should be about 51 degrees or so.

Regards,

Andrew
Skywatcher Explorer 200P on HEQ5 Mount with GOTO upgrade
Canon 350D DSLR, 10x50 Bins http://andrewrichens.wix.com/astro-nerd
Ric

Post by Ric »

Andrew INT wrote:Hi Ric, and welcome.

If I understand your question correctly...

I take it that your mount is equatorial. In this case, it should be set at the longitude of your location. It should be about 51 degrees or so.

Regards,

Andrew
thanks Andrew - ah, this is good news: am doing a bit of amateur Stone Age astronomy and the megalithic alignments i am thinking of will be much friendlier at 51 degrees: i had guesstimated over 65 degrees and this seemed, even to this untutored soul, a tad high in the northern sky?

best regards :)

R
mike a feist
Location: Portslade, Sussex Lat 50deg 51min Long 0deg 13mins West

Post by mike a feist »