Total beginner - trying to keep up with my 6yo daughter!

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

zedzed

Total beginner - trying to keep up with my 6yo daughter!

Post by zedzed »

Hi all,

My 6 yo daughter is mad keen on astronomy - learning all about the planets at school. I've always been interested but not got round to astronomy, so this seems a good chance for us to learn together and do something "father and daughter".

So ... looking for some advice. I'd like to get:

Binoculars and a stand that we can both use. Do any online stores out there sell "packages" (binos + tripod) at we could both use? Any recommendations on kit that won't break the bank? (£50 to £100 max).

A few intro books. One that helps her understand a little more (kids level, obv!), and then something I can read that helps me find the stuff in the sky she wants to see!

Any other beginner advice greatly appreciated :)

Dez

p.s. We're going to go to Galloway forest park in the next month or so for a "sleep in a tent and do some star gazing" night. Any advice on that appreciated too. Other than not going on a cloudy night ;-) :D
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Welcome.
Because your daughter is probably smallish a binocular needs to be small and rather good.
When changing eye separation a binocular seemingly collimated for adults may not be collimated for the smaller interpupillary distance of children.

I suggest a 7 x 35 binocular.

She may also be better off with a small low Newtonian or perhaps a small refractor or spotting scope.

I will think more and others will give advice.

Turn Left at Orion latest edition is recommended here frequently but maybe there are other books.

regards,David
Brian

Post by Brian »

Welcome Dez! 8)

Have you looked in the "Young Stargazers" section of the main SPA webpages:

http://www.popastro.com/youngstargazers/index.php