What we see now

The non amateur stuff. Hawking, black holes, that sort of thing

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

Russell

What we see now

Post by Russell »

Hi all,I would like to know when looking at distant stars the light takes millions of years to get to earth. How do we know they are still there.How can folks talk about this and that when it is not there.I would love to read a plain simple book that puts it into laymans terms.As you can tell by the question im very new to astronomy but cant get my head around the idea of reading a 20 million year old newspaper and that newpaper telling you whats happening today.When replying please keep it simple :oops: Thanks
Take care
Russell
joe
Site Admin

Post by joe »

Hi Russell,

How do we know it is still there? We don't and we don't even know where there is! The word "now" only refers loosely to a small part of the universe that we can have influence over or be influenced by. If you look at something as it was 20 million years ago, now, you are not looking at the "now" of that object. You are looking at it then! Only the photons that entered your eye are here now. But on the other hand, reliable astrophysical theories will give us a good idea as to whether a star is at the beginning or end of its life and therefore whether it would still exist after 20 million years.

Taking your newspaper analogy, the date on the newspaper would not be today's, it would be 19,997,995 BC and would be telling you what happened then.

Even when looking at something happening across the street you are not looking at it now. It is removed from you by a distance and therefore the time-frame is different, admittedly by a miniscule amount , but we have chosen for the sake of survival to call everything that we see as happening now.

Was that simple? :?
200mm Newtonian, OMC140, ETX90, 15x70 Binoculars.
Russell

Post by Russell »