A question

Discuss the greatest threat to amateur astronomy today

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore, JohnM

newguy

A question

Post by newguy »

I am a total beginner and I live in fife. I can see Edinburgh from where I live. I just want to know what the viewing conditions are like here. ANd if it is worth my while to get interested in astronomy if I can't see anything.

Thanks

Deimos

Post by Deimos »

For me there are loads of interesting aspects to astronomy/astrophysics and looking through a telescope is only part of it. It is a truly fascinating subject and a lot can be learnt appreciated thought about, etc. without watching the skies (fascinating though that is as well).

As the the question - sorry but I cannot help on the viewing conditions in your area - but if something interests you then "go-for-it".

Ian

stella

Re: A question

Post by stella »

newguy wrote:I am a total beginner and I live in fife. I can see Edinburgh from where I live. I just want to know what the viewing conditions are like here. ANd if it is worth my while to get interested in astronomy if I can't see anything.

Thanks
If you can see Edinburgh, then you might like to visit the Royal
Observatory there, next weekend (Sept30/Oct01). They are holding Open Days
from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and you should be able to get advice from
them as to what you can expect to see.

Cliff

Post by Cliff »

Dear Newguy
I hope you take Stella's advice. I must admit I have never been to see the Edinburgh Observatory but I may yet do some time.
I did though visit Dundee Observatory once and thoroughly enjoyed it.